Research Databases

Databases and Other Useful WebSites

Listed alphabetically by site name.

American Rhetoric
Transcripts and recordings of famous speeches

Ancestry.com [in-library use only]
U.S. historic records (census, birth, marriage, death, military, and immigration)

AtoZdatabases
The database offers 30 million business & executives profiles, 220 million residents, 2.3 million job/internship opportunities, Interview Tips, Résumé Templates,1.1 healthcare professionals, 2 million new businesses, genealogy, background and criminal search, email marketing and more. The database is ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, marketing research, demographic studies, employment opportunities, genealogy, background and criminal searching, finding friends, and relatives and much more!

A-Z World Culture
Information on 175 countries of the world

BBC Languages
Interactive courses, videos, and audio clips to help you learn a language

Biography in Context
Information on the world’s most influential people

Book Series in Order
Can't remember which of the books in your new favorite series came next? This site can help you out. Search by either character or author.

Boston Globe
Full-text articles from the Boston Globe (1980-current) and the Boston Herald (1991-current)

Central Register [available for in-library use only; please see staff for access]
Information about state, county, and municipal contracts being put out to bid for the design, construction, and reconstruction of public facilities in Massachusetts

Chilton
Repair information for most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles

Citizen Information Service
Information about state services, agencies, and contact points

Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Information on the state and its departments

Consumer Reports
Product reviews and ratings on cars, appliances, electronics and more.

Contemporary Literary Criticism
Critical essays on contemporary authors

Coursera
This is a site of Massively Open Online Courses (MOOCs) featuring self-paced courses founded by two professors from Standford University. It was one of the first MOOC sites out there and so has been around longer than EdX (see below). It boasts over 600 courses to choose from.

Cypress Resume
Create professional-quality resumes using an online resume builder.

Digital Learn
Every structure has a ground floor. Digital Learn is the ground floor for the structure that is learning about computers. Introductory topics like, search, web site navigation, and email can be found here.

Educators Reference Complete
Thousands of articles relating to the field of education

EdX
This is a site of Massively Open Online Courses (MOOCs) featuring self-paced courses provided by professors from globally reknown univirsities such as Harvard, Kyoto, and Toronto. Subjects covered by the sources include Education, Law, and Science.

Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia articles on a variety of topics

FAFSA
Application for federal student aid and assistance

FamilySearch.org
Historic records from around the world, including the U.S.

General Business File ASAP
Broker research reports, trade publications, company directories, and business newspapers/journals

Glassdoor
Job listings and company reviews by the people that really know: the employees.

Goods & Services Bulletin [available for in-library use only; please see staff for access]
Solicitations for the procurement of commodities and services

Goodwill's Learn for Free
If you want to learn about computer basics, like mouse & keyboard tutorials or such popular applications as Facebook this is the site for you. It also has job search help in the form of cover letter/resume writing tips and interviewing skills. You can even learn everyday skill like how to check your receipt on this free and easy resource.

GreenFile [In the library] [From home]
Information on the environment and environmentalism

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Information on diseases, conditions, drugs, and health services

Health Reference Center Academic
Nursing and health publications

InfoTrac
Thousands of articles on a variety of topics (high school students + general interest)

Junior Edition - K12
Thousands of articles on a variety of topics (middle school students)

Kids InfoBits
Information on geography, current events, arts, science, history, and more (for students K-5)

Legal Forms
Massachusetts legal forms (lease, bill of sale, divorce, wills, etc.)

Local Newspapers

Literary Reference Center [In the library] [From home]
Literary criticism, plot summaries, full-text classic novels and poems, and author biographies

Literature Resource Center
Literary criticism, book reviews, and author

Lynda.com
A large collection of online training videos on such topics as business, computer aided design, and marketing.

Manuscripts, Archives, & Special Collections Directory
Indexes to special collections (archives, historical societies, towns) in Massachusetts

Massachusetts History Online
Articles relating to Massachusetts history

Massachusetts Legal Services
Legal aid directory and information on a wide variety of legal topics

Massachusetts Legislature
Mass laws/bills, legislator directories, and state budgets

Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries
Mass laws, legal sources, and legal aid

MayoClinic
Information on diseases, conditions, drugs, and health services

Mitchell [available for in-library use only] [must use Internet Explorer]
Repair information for most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles

The New York Times
Full-text New York Times (1985-current)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Articles and essays on a variety of controversial topics

Price It! Antiques & Collectibles
Over 23 million prices realized for art, antiques and collectibles in more than 100 categories and subcategories with over 10 million images.

Safari
Full-text technology books (desktop and web applications, software development, digital media, and information technologies)

Science In Context
Information on today’s most significant science topics

Statistical Abstracts
Statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States

Student Edition
Thousands of articles on a variety of topics (high school students)

Teacher Reference Center [In the library] [From home]
Thousands of articles relating to the field of education

Testing & Education Center
Practice tests and books for a variety of standardized tests

Town of Wilmington
Information on the town of Wilmington and town departments

Transparent Language
Language instruction for over 100 languages, including ESL instruction

Universal Class
Variety of online courses of both personal and professional interest

U.S. Census Bureau - EasyStats
Federal, state, and local census data

US History in Context
Information on the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history

US Small Business Administration
Information and assistance for small business owners and operators

World History in Context
Information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history